Fire & EMS

Fire Department

The Altoona Fire Department is comprised of paid on-call professionals, and has been serving the City since 1887.

Services provided by the department include full fire protection, rescue service, fire inspections and education programs on fire prevention, first aid, and CPR. The Fire Department also issues burning permits for City residents.

Burning regulations: click here.

EMS

The Altoona Rescue - EMS squad is made up of men and women in our community who serve the citizens of Altoona 365 days a year, 24 hours per day.  Members of the Altoona Rescue - EMS squad are paid on-call professionals with a minimum training level of EMT - Basic

Services provided are emergency medical response, patient treatment until an ambulance arrives, community outreach programs, and training.  The City of Altoona contracts with the City of Eau Claire to provide ambulance service.

Location

Emergency Services Building
1904 Spooner Avenue
Altoona, Wisconsin 54720

 

Office Hours

7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday

 

Contact Info

Ph: 715-839-2970
Fax: 715-839-3763

Fire Chief

Jesse James
E-mail: jessej@ci.altoona.wi.us
 

Assistant Fire Chief

Jason F. Knecht
E-mail: jasonk@ci.altoona.wi.us

 

EMS Supervisor

Lisa M. Schuetz
E-mail: lisas@ci.altoona.wi.us

Fire Inspectors

Lt. David A. Daken
E-mail: davidd@ci.altoona.wi.us

Capt. Rodger A. Frye, Jr.
E-mail: rodgerf@ci.altoona.wi.us

Lt. Christopher R. I'Anson
E-mail: christopheri@ci.altoona.wi.us

FF Andrew G. Kent
E-mail: andrewk@ci.altoona.wi.us